Phobia are a grindcore band from Orange County, California, which was formed in 1990 and is heavily influenced by crust punk and grindcore. Their lyrical content focuses mainly on socio-political issues and left wing politics. They record the “What Went Wrong?” demo soon after they formed and followed up with the All That Remains 7″ E.P., released on Relapse Records. In 1994, they released the Return to Desolation CD/EP. In 1997 Slap-a-Ham Records released the Enslaved 7″ E.P. Their first full length record entitled “Means of Existence” was released by Slap a Ham in 1998 as they embarked on a full U.S. tour. In 1999, the band recorded a split with the Japanese band Corrupted on Rhetoric Records as well as the CD/E.P. “Destroying the Masses”. 1999 also brought the bands first European tour, going on for a lengthy two months, playing countries like Belgium, Germany, Austria, Scotland and Holland.

In 2001 the band toured with Anarchus in Mexico. After returning, the band released their “Serenity Through Pain” CD/E.P. on Deathvomit Records. In 2006, the group released the album “Cruel”, which was Danny Walker’s first album with the band and was produced by Scott Hull of Pig Destroyer. “22 Random Acts of Violence” was released October 22, 2008 on Willowtip Records.

Other Information

  • Origin: Orange County, California, United States
  • Genres: Grindcore, Deathgrind
  • Years active: 1990-Present
  • Labels: Willowtip Records, Relapse Records, Slap-a-Ham Records
  • Associated acts: Exhumed, Dekapitator, Final Conflict, Jesu, Impaled, Thornlord, Intronaut, Uphill Battle, Morbosidad, Gridlink, Murder Construct
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Shane Mclachlan – vocals
  2. Steve Burda – guitar
  3. Calum Mackenzie – bass
  4. Bryan Fajardo – drums


  • What Went Wrong (1990) – Demo
  • All that Remains (1992) – EP
  • Return to Desolation (1993) – EP
  • Plutocracy / Phobia (1994) – Split
  • Enslaved (1997) – EP
  • Means of Existence (1998)
  • Corrupted / Phobia (1999) – Split
  • Destroying the Masses (1999)
  • Serenity Through Pain (2001)
  • Phobia / Resist And Exist (2002) – Split
  • Grind Your Fucking Head In (2003)
  • Get Up and Kill! (2004)
  • Relapse Singles Series Vol. 4 (2004) – Split
  • Another Four Years of Murder (2006) – Split
  • Cruel (2006)
  • 22 Random Acts of Violence (2008)


~ by molco on December 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: