8 Foot Sativa

8 Foot Sativa is a New Zealand-based metal band formed in 1998. Their most famous single is their self titled song, “8 Foot Sativa”, which was number one on M2’s top 12 list for 12 weeks, and stayed on the chart for seven months. The band has toured and released albums internationally, and have played alongside artists such as Soulfly, Korn, Slipknot, System of a Down, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Motörhead, Pungent Stench, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had many line-up changes with four in 2006, and one in 2007, claiming they’ve had “the line-up changes from hell”.

Their huge success of their three previous albums, national tours, break- through chart positions and exposure in the main stream media has never before been seen in this country by a Heavy Metal band. They plan to release a ‘Best of’ CD in December 2009 titled ’10 Years of Sativa’ which will include they best tracks from their past albums plus two tracks from their upcoming album. The deluxe edition will include a DVD with all the bands music videos on it. They have also recording their highly anticipanted new album, The Mark of Man, planned for release in February 2010.

Other Information

  • Origin: Auckland, New Zealand
  • Genres: Death metal, Thrash metal, Melodic death metal
  • Years active: 1998-present
  • Labels: Sativa Records, Intergalactic Records, Roadrunner Records, Black Mark Records
  • Associated acts: Sinate, Ulcerate
  • Website: http://www.8footsativa.com
  • Members:
  1. Ben Read – vocals
  2. Gary Smith – guitars
  3. Christian Humphreys – guitars
  4. Steve Boag – bass
  5. Corey Friedlander – drums


  • Hate Made Me (2002)
  • Season for Assault (2003)
  • Breed the Pain (2005)
  • Poison of Ages (2007)
  • TBA (2010)


~ by molco on December 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: