Evile is a thrash metal band from Huddersfield, United Kingdom formed in 2004. The band was originally known as “Motor Militia” when Matt Drake and Ben Carter began to cover early Metallica songs. They independently recorded and released two EPs in limited quantities of 250-500 units: “All Hallows Eve” in 2004 and “Hell Demo” in 2006. Their sound is primarily influenced by classic thrash metal, citing bands such as Testament, Metallica, Megadeth, Sepultura, Slayer, Exodus and Annihilator, though they are also influenced by death metal bands like Obituary.

Their debut album, “Enter the Grave,” was produced by Flemming Rasmussen at Sweet Silence Studios in Copenhagen, Denmark and was released worldwide in 2007 by Earache Records. The band’s first reviews included a hail by Kerrang! as “Carrying the genre’s whole ‘revival’ on their shoulders.” In February and March 2008, they supported Megadeth on the European leg of their Tour of Duty and the UK leg of their Gigantour, opening for American deathcore band Job for a Cowboy. Along with Airbourne, Engel, Baroness and Suicide Silence, the group was nominated in the Best Debut category at the 2008 Metal Hammer Golden Gods Awards. Their 2nd album “Infected Nations”, was released on September 21, 2009.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Motor Militia
  • Origin: Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
  • Genres: Thrash metal
  • Years active: 2004–present
  • Labels: Earache Records
  • Website: http://www.evile.co.uk
  • Members:
  1. Matt Drake – vocals, guitars
  2. Oliver “Ol” Drake – guitars
  3. Joel Graham – bass
  4. Ben Carter – drums



  • All Hallows Eve (2004) – EP
  • Hell Demo (2006) – Demo
  • Enter the Grave (2007)
  • Infected Nations (2009)



~ by molco on December 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: