Nachtmystium is an American psychedelic and extreme metal band formed by Blake Judd, formerly known as Azentrius, and Pat McCormick. The band’s name is derived from the German word Nacht meaning “night”, and the made-up term mystium which resembles the Latin adjective mysticum. Judd and McCormick combined the words to create the band’s name, which they state means “Encompassing Darkness.”

The band was heavily influenced by second-wave black metal bands, such as Darkthrone and Burzum, evidenced in their low-fi first release “Reign of the Malicious” in 2002. The band’s next release “Demise” (2004), was described by Judd as Nachtmystium’s “last straight forward ‘raw black metal’ record.” Following two releases “Eulogy IV” (2004) and “Instinct: Decay” (2006), incorporated psychedelic and experimental musical elements that were pioneered by bands like Black Sabbath and Pink Floyd. The band released “Assassins: Black Meddle, Part 1” on June 10, 2008 in America. The album received a generally positive critical reception, especially from Pitchfork Media and MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball, who both stated that it was one of the year’s best releases. In September 2009, they announced that the “Addicts: Black Meddle Part II” will due in 2010.

Other Information

  • Origin: Wheaton, Illinois, United States
  • Genres: Black metal, Black ambient, Extreme metal, Psychedelic metal
  • Years active: 2000-present
  • Labels: Century Media Records, Candlelight Records, Battle Kommand Records, Southern Lord Records
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Blake “Azentrius” Judd – guitars, vocals
  2. Jeff Wilson – guitars
  3. Jon Necromancer – bass
  4. Sanford Parker – synth, moog
  5. Zack Simmons – drums



  • Reign of the Malicious (2002)
  • Demise (2004)
  • Instinct: Decay (2006)
  • Assassins: Black Meddle, Part 1 (2008)
  • Addicts: Black Meddle Pt. II (2010)

Demos, EPs, Splits, Lives, DVDs and Compilations

  • Holocaust of Eternity (2000) – Demo
  • Unholy Terrorist Cult (2001) – Demo
  • Nachtmystium/Zalnik (with Zalnik) (2001) – Split
  • Live Onslaught (2002) – Live
  • Nachtmystium (2003) – EP
  • Live Blitzkrieg (2003) – Live
  • Nachtmystium/Xasthur (with Xasthur) (2004) – Split
  • The First Attacks, 2000-2001 (2004) – Compilation
  • Reign of the Malicious + Nachtmystium (2004) – Compilation
  • Eulogy IV (2004) – EP
  • Live Onslaught 2 (2005) – Live
  • Daze West (with Krieg) (2005) – Split
  • Visual Propaganda: Live from the Pits of Damnation (2005) – DVD
  • Worldfall (2008) – EP
  • Doomsday Derelicts (2009) – EP


~ by molco on December 10, 2009.

One Response to “Nachtmystium”

  1. what about this band?

    their live is fucking awesome!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: