Sonata Arctica

Sonata Arctica is a Finnish power metal band from the town of Kemi, originally assembled at the end of 1995. They started in 1996 as Tricky Beans, then changed to Tricky Means until 1999 and later changed its name to Sonata Arctica, playing hard rock/pop music that later evolved into Stratovarius-inspired Power Metal. Their later works (most notably The Days of Grays, Unia and a few tracks on Reckoning Night) contain some elements typical of progressive metal.

In the beginning of 2000, the band was chosen to support the well known power metal band Stratovarius throughout their European tour. In 2002, they made its first incursion to America, putting on shows in Brazil and Chile. In early 2004, they was chosen as the opener for Iron Maiden’s Japanese tour. Their latest album “The Days of Grays” was released on September 16, 2009 in Finland and September 22, 2009 in the USA. The band will also be touring with DragonForce for the third U.S. leg of the Ultra Beatdown tour, and will be touring the US “two or three times,” as well as doing a European tour and Asian tour covering China, Korea, and Japan.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Tricky Beans, Tricky Means
  • Origin: Kemi, Finland
  • Genres: Power metal, Progressive metal
  • Years active: 1996-present
  • Labels: Spinefarm Records, Nuclear Blast Records
  • Associated acts: Stratovarius, Nightwish, Children Of Bodom, Apocalyptica, HIM, Cain’s Offering, Epica
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Tony Kakko – vocals, keyboards
  2. Elias Viljanen – guitar
  3. Marko Paasikoski – bass
  4. Henrik Klingenberg – keyboards
  5. Tommy Portimo – drums



  • Ecliptica (1999)
  • Silence (2001)
  • Winterheart’s Guild (2003)
  • Reckoning Night (2004)
  • Unia (2007)
  • The Days of Grays (2009)

EPs, Lives, DVD and Compilations

  • Successor (2000) – EP
  • Orientation (2001) – EP
  • Songs of Silence – Live in Tokyo (2002) – Live
  • Takatalvi (2003) – EP
  • Don’t Say A Word (2004) – EP
  • The End of This Chapter (2005) – Compilation
  • For the Sake of Revenge (2006) – DVD
  • For the Sake of Revenge (2006) – Live
  • The Collection 1999-2006 (2006) – Compilation



~ by molco on December 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: