Testament is an American thrash metal band from Oakland, California, formed in 1983. Formed in the San Francisco Bay Area which originally using the name Legacy. The band released one self-titled 4 song demo in 1986. While recording their first album, the band was forced to change their name to Testament because “The Legacy” was already trademarked by a jazz band.

Their first album “The Legacy”, was released in 1987 on Megaforce Records. They received instant fame within thrash circles and were often compared with fellow Bay Area thrash pioneers Metallica. In 2006, the band played for the first time in the Middle East at the Dubai Desert Rock festival. In 2008, they released their 9th album, titled “The Formation of Damnation”, their first studio album in nine years. In June, they headlined the 3rd stage at Download Festival, held at Donington Park, UK and they also toured the U.S., as a supporting act for Judas Priest, Heaven and Hell, and Motörhead on the “Metal Masters Tour”. In 2009, they set out on a 6 week tour across the U.S. to promote “The Formation of Damnation”, touring with Unearth and Lazarus A.D.. In early 2010, the group will tour the United States with Megadeth and Slayer.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Legacy
  • Origin: Oakland, California, United States
  • Genres: Thrash metal, Heavy metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 1983–present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast Records, Atlantic Records, Megaforce Records, Spitfire Records, Burnt Offerings Records
  • Associated acts: Alex Skolnick Trio, Savatage, Dragonlord, Dublin Death Patrol, Vio-Lence, Slayer, Pitch Black Forecast, Dark Angel
  • Website: http://www.testamentlegions.com
  • Members:
  1. Chuck Billy – vocals
  2. Eric Peterson – guitars
  3. Alex Skolnick – guitars
  4. Greg Christian – bass
  5. Paul Bostaph – drums



  • The Legacy (1987)
  • The New Order (1988)
  • Practice What You Preach (1989)
  • Souls of Black (1990)
  • The Ritual (1992)
  • Low (1994)
  • Demonic (1997)
  • The Gathering (1999)
  • First Strike Still Deadly (2001)
  • The Formation of Damnation (2008)
  • TBA (2010)


  • Live At Eindhoven (1987)
  • Trial by Fire (1988)
  • Return to the Apocalyptic City (1993)


  • Kerrang! Plastic Explosive (1990)
  • HiFive – Nuclear Blast Presents Thrash Metal (2008)


  • Live at the Fillmore (1995)
  • Live in London (2005)
  • Live at Eindhoven ’87 (2009)


  • Seen Between The Lines (1991)
  • Electric Crown (1992)


  • Live At The Omni 1988 (2004)
  • Live in Tilburg, The Netherlands (2004)
  • Santa Monica Civic 1989 (2004)
  • Live in Osaka Japan 1999 (2004)
  • Live in London (2005)
  • Live in Tokyo Japan 1999 (2006)
  • Live in Istanbul (2006)
  • Live at the Warfield (2007)
  • Live in Paris (2007)
  • Live at the Independent (2007)
  • Live in Taiwan (2007)


  • The Best of Testament (1996)
  • Signs of Chaos: The Best of Testament (1997)
  • The Very Best of Testament (2000)
  • First Strike Still Deadly (2001)
  • Days of Darkness (2004)
  • The Spitfire Collection (2007)



~ by molco on December 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: