Hypocrisy is a death metal band from Sweden. It was formed in 1990 in Ludvika, Sweden. After spending three years in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in 1990, founder Peter Tägtgren returned to his homeland of Sweden to form his own band.

Musically, the band’s style has drifted from a traditional death metal sound on their early albums, to a more melodic death metal sound. The lyrics in their early stages – written by original vocalist Masse Broberg – were anti-Christian and Satanic. However the band later chose to focus on lyrical themes such as the paranormal and extraterrestrial, which prompted Broberg out of the band (and to transfer his interests to black metal band Dark Funeral as Emperor Magus Caligula). Their tenth album, Virus, contains lyrics of a more typical death metal nature dealing with violence, the horrors of reality, insanity, torture, war, drug addiction, and emotional struggles. Tägtgren’s experience as a producer may have also have led to the band’s change in musical direction, as he is more closely involved with many other bands while producing their albums.

Other Information

  • Origin: Ludvika, Sweden
  • Genres: Death metal, Melodic death metal
  • Years active: 1990–present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast Records
  • Associated acts: Immortal, Pain, Dark Funeral
  • Website: http://www.hypocrisy.tv
  • Members:
  1. Peter Tägtgren – vocals, guitar, synthesizer
  2. Mikael Hedlund – bass
  3. Reidar “Horgh” Horghagen – drums



  • Penetralia (1992)
  • Osculum Obscenum (1993)
  • The Fourth Dimension (1994)
  • Abducted (1996)
  • The Final Chapter (1997)
  • Hypocrisy (1999)
  • Into the Abyss (2000)
  • Catch 22 (2002)
  • The Arrival (2004)
  • Virus (2005)
  • Catch 22 (V2.0.08) (2008)
  • A Taste of Extreme Divinity (2009)


  • Rest in Pain (1991)
  • Rest in Pain (1992)


  • Pleasure of Molestation (1993)
  • Inferior Devoties (1994)
  • Maximum Abduction (1996)
  • Virus Radio EP (2005)


  • Nuclear Blast Sampler (1992)
  • Hypocrisy / Meshuggah (1996)
  • Nuclear Blast Festivals 2000 (2001)


  • 10 Years of Chaos and Confusion (2001)

Live albums

  • Hypocrisy Destroys Wacken (1999)


  • Live & Clips (2001)



~ by molco on November 26, 2009.

One Response to “Hypocrisy”

  1. this bands clearly
    delivers metal
    things from then til now.
    great page!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: