Deadlock is a German melodic death metal band from Schwarzenfeld, Bavaria, Germany. They released the 7″ vinyl Deadlock in 1999. After this came the EP I’ll Wake You, When Spring Awakes in 2000. 2002 saw the release of their first album, The Arrival. The album featured keyboards, and guest clean vocals from Sabine Weniger. Their second album, Earth.Revolt was released in 2005. Their third album, Wolves, was released in 2007, and featured techno beats. The track “Code of Honor” was turned into their first music video. They launched a tour in support of “Wolves” through Europe alongside Neaera and Maintain. Their album “Manifesto” was released in November 2008.

The band incorporates melodic death metal as well as some melodic metalcore aspects like bands such as Sonic Syndicate, and Scar Symmetry. What makes them different is the combination of death growls by vocalist Johannes Prem and the clean vocals of Sabine Weniger. Also included in their sound is techno sections, often used as intros but sometimes used as a whole breakdown section, where the ‘metal’ completely cuts out and a techno beat starts.

Other Information

  • Origin: Schwarzenfeld, Bavaria, Germany
  • Genres: Melodic death metal, Metalcore, Dark metal
  • Years active: 1997–present
  • Labels: Winter Recordings, Lifeforce Records
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Johannes Prem – harsh vocals
  2. Sabine Weniger – clean vocals
  3. Sebastian Reichl – guitar, keyboards
  4. Gert Rymen – guitar
  5. John Gahlert – bass
  6. Tobias Graf – drums



  • Deadlock (1999) – EP
  • I`ll Wake You, When Spring Awakes (2000) – EP
  • The Arrival (2002)
  • Deadlock / Six Reasons to Kill (2003) – Split
  • Earth.Revolt (2005)
  • Wolves (2007)
  • Manifesto (2008)



~ by molco on November 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: