Suicidal Tendencies

Suicidal Tendencies, also known as S.T. or Suicidal, is an American crossover thrash metal and hardcore punk band. They were formed in Venice, Los Angeles, California, in 1981 by the leader and only permanent member, singer Mike Muir. The band is credited as one of the “the fathers of crossover thrash”.

The band rose to fame with their 1983 self-titled debut album, which spawned the single “Institutionalized”. That single was one of the first hardcore punk videos to receive substantial airplay on MTV. They did not release a follow-up record until 1987, with “Join the Army”. The album attracted the attention of Epic Records, who signed the band in 1988 and issued their third album “How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can’t Even Smile Today”, later that year. This was followed by their next two albums, Controlled by Hatred/Feel Like Shit…Déjà Vu and Lights…Camera…Revolution!, which were also successful and both certified Gold by the RIAA. After releasing two more studio albums (The Art of Rebellion and Suicidal for Life), they called it quits in 1995. However, they reunited in 1997 and have continued to perform and record since then.

Other Information

  • Origin: Venice, California, United States
  • Genres: Crossover thrash, Hardcore punk, Thrash metal, Funk metal
  • Years active: 1981-present
  • Labels: Frontier Records, Caroline Records, Virgin Records, Epic Records, Suicidal Records
  • Associated acts: Infectious Grooves, Cyco Miko, Metallica, No Mercy, Excel, Uncle Slam, AgainST
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Mike Muir – vocals
  2. Mike Clark – guitar
  3. Dean Pleasants – guitar
  4. Steve Brunner – bass
  5. Eric Moore – drums



  • Suicidal Tendencies (1983)
  • Join the Army (1987)
  • How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can’t Even Smile Today (1988)
  • Lights… Camera… Revolution (1990)
  • The Art of Rebellion (1992)
  • Still Cyco After All These Years (1993)
  • Suicidal For Life (1994)
  • Freedumb (1999)
  • Free Your Soul… and Save My Mind (2000)


  • 1982 Demo (1982)
  • Demo 82 # 2 (1982)
  • Demo ’86 (1986)


  • Welcome to Venice (1985)
  • Schizophrenic Born Again Problem Child (2001)
  • Year of the Cycos (2009)


  • Controlled By Hatred (1989)
  • Feel Like Shit… Deja Vu (1989)
  • I’ll Hate You Better (1993)
  • Six the Hard Way (1998)


  • Controlled By Hatred / Feel Like Shit… Deja Vu (1989)
  • Lights…Camera…Conversation (1990)
  • FNG (1992)
  • Prime Cuts (1997)


  • Lights… Camera… Suicidal (1990)



~ by molco on November 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: