Eternal Tears of Sorrow

Eternal Tears of Sorrow (EToS) is a Finnish melodic death metal band formed in Pudasjärvi in Northern Ostrobothnia, Finland. Romantic lyrics and soft keyboard melodies show Gothic metal influence. The band was formed in 1994. Andromeda, a first death, doom, thrash metal project, had been put on hold in late 1992 because the rehearsal place had burned down. It seemed their home town wasn’t able to give them a new rehearsal place, so the three members started a new side project (M.D.C.) and recorded a demo tape, Beyond The Fantasy in autumn 1993. In spring 1994, they recorded a new demo, The Seven Goddesses of Frost. Now, the band decided to change their name to more serious Eternal Tears of Sorrow.

The band’s sixth “Children Of The Dark Waters” came out in May 2009 through Suomen Musiikki in Finland, Massacre Records in Europe excluding Finland, and Marquee/Avalon in Asia. A new single, “Tears of Autumn Rain,” was released in Finland and Japan as well as on the band’s MySpace page. The other track on the single was a rerecorded version of “Vilda Mánnu” from their second album. “Children of the Dark Waters” album charted at #19 at the Finnish Album Top 40 charts.

Other Information

  • Origin: Pudasjärvi, Northern Ostrobothnia, Finland
  • Genres: Thrash Metal (early), Melodic Death Metal (mid), Symphonic Death Metal (later)
  • Years active: 1994–present
  • Labels: Suomen Musiikki, Spinefarm Records, X-Treme Records, Drakkar Entertainment, NEMS, Fono, Massacre Records, King Records, Marquee/Avalon
  • Associated acts: For My Pain…, Kalmah, Scyron, Tarot, Virtuocity, Turmion Kätilöt, To/Die/For, Soulrelic, Catamenia
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Altti Veteläinen – vocals, bass
  2. Jarmo Kylmänen – clean vocals
  3. Jarmo Puolakanaho – guitar
  4. Mika Lammassaari – guitar
  5. Janne Tolsa – keyboards
  6. Juho Raappana – drums



  • The Seven Goddesses of Frost (1994) – Demo
  • Bards Burial (1994) – Demo
  • Sinner’s Serenade (1997)
  • Sacrament of Wilderness (1998) – Split
  • Vilda Mánnu (1998)
  • Chaotic Beauty (2000)
  • A Virgin and a Whore (2001)
  • Before the Bleeding Sun (2006)
  • Children of the Dark Waters (2009)


~ by molco on November 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: