Darkane, formerly known as Agretator, is a melodic death/thrash metal band that originated in Helsingborg, Sweden in 1998. Their music contains ample thrash elements interspersed with acoustic interludes and symphonic features, such as the in studio use of synthesizers and occasionally full orchestras and choir singing. The name Darkane is a portmanteau of the words “dark” and “arcane”.

On October 6, 2007 it was announced that they was writing new material for their fifth studio album, which was later released on October 24, 2008. Peter Wildoer posted this message on his website: “This coming winter we will start recording Darkane’s fifth record. We have about nine songs ready. We were hoping to enter the studio earlier but in typical Darkane bad luck, our studio got flooded and badly damaged. So now we’re looking for a new location for the studio and as soon as we find that we need to rebuild the studio which takes a lot of time. Hopefully we will start recording around Christmas. In some weeks, we’ll start working on the mix of the upcoming Darkane DVD. I just hope the DVD will be released early next year”. Their only full-length DVD was shot in May 2006 in the band’s hometown of Helsingborg, Sweden.

Other Information

  • Origin: Helsingborg, Sweden
  • Genres: Melodic death metal, Thrash metal
  • Years active: 1998-present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast Records, Massacre Records, Relapse Records
  • Website: http://www.darkane.com
  • Members:
  1. Jens Broman – vocals
  2. Klas Ideberg – guitar
  3. Jörgen Löfberg – bass
  4. Christofer Malmström – guitar
  5. Peter Wildoer – drums


  • Rusted Angel (1999)
  • Insanity (2001)
  • Expanding Senses (2002)
  • Layers of Lies (2005)
  • Demonic Art (2008)


~ by molco on November 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: