bethlehemBethlehem is a German extreme metal band from Grevenbroich, formed in 1991. Their early sound contained elements of black doom and death/doom, which was described by critics as “dark metal”, after their album entitled “Dark Metal”. Many of their songs have morbid lyrics, which may, for the most part, be personal to the band. On Dictius Te Necare (Latin: You must/should kill yourself) Rainer Landfermann, well-known from the German death metal band Pavor, is the vocalist. His voice is described as “one of the sickest and most extreme voices you’ll ever hear from a human being”. On S.U.I.Z.I.D. his place is taken by Marco Kehren from the band Deinonychus. Guido Meyer de Voltaire, the vocalist from Schatten aus der Alexanderwelt and Mein Weg, is also well-known with his band Aardvarks. Andreas Classen, vocalist on Dark Metal also did vocals for Paragon Belial, a German black metal band.

Over the years, they modernized their style and so the early black and doom metal influences are now hardly present, the band favouring a more Neue Deutsche Härte (New German Hardness) and electronic approach. In 1998, they collaborated on the soundtrack for the American underground movie Gummo with the tracks “Schuld Uns’res Knöcherigen Faltpferds” and “Verschleierte Irreligiösität”.

Other Information

  • Origin: Grevenbroich, Germany
  • Genres: Black doom, Death/Doom, Dark metal, Extreme metal
  • Years active: 1991–present
  • Labels: Red Stream Inc
  • Associated acts: Pavor, Deinonychus
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Niklas Kvarforth – vocals
  2. Olaf Eckhardt – guitars
  3. Reuben Jordan – guitars
  4. Jürgen Bartsch – bass
  5. Steve Wolz – drums


  • Bethlehem (1992) – Demo
  • Thy Pale Dominion (1993) – Demo
  • Dark Metal (1993) – VHS
  • Dark Metal (1994)
  • Dictius Te Necare (1996)
  • Gepriesen sei der Untergang (1997) – VHS
  • Sardonischer Untergang im Zeichen Irreligiöser Darbietung (1998)
  • Reflektionen auf’s Sterben (1998) – EP
  • Profane Fetmilch Lenzt Elf Krank (1999) – EP
  • Schatten aus der Alexander Welt (2001)
  • Wraithen / Bethlehem (2002) – Split
  • Suicide Radio (2003) – EP
  • Alles Tot (2004) – EP
  • Mein Weg (2004)
  • Gestern Starb Ich Schon Heute (2009) – Split
  • Suizidal-Ovipare Todessehnsucht (2009) – Split
  • A Sacrificial Offering to the Kingdom of Heaven in a Cracked Dog’s Ear (2009)


~ by molco on October 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: