Vehemence are a melodic death metal band from Phoenix, Arizona, United States. They formed in 1997 and released their first demo cassette in 1998. Their debut album, “The Thoughts From Which I Hide”, was self-released in 2000. They debuted on Metal Blade Records in 2002 with “God Was Created”, and released their final album,Helping The World To See” in 2004. Long-time vocalist Nathan Gearheart left the line-up in 2005 and was replaced by former From a Second Story Window singer Sean Vandegrift, a change that put the band into a more Hardcore-fused direction. Sean Vandegrift and Vehemence parted ways later that year and Adam Cody from Glass Casket filled the spot. The band split up in October 2005. However, on 25 February 2006 they announced that they were back together, but after playing a two gigs at Metal Devastation 2 and the Acme bar they split up again.

In late 2007 they reformed again, this time with Kyle Moeller replacing John Chavez on guitar. In November 2007, the band released a new song on their MySpace page, “There Are So Many Reasons To Give Up Religion.” In February 2008, they played their first show since 2006, and since then the band has reportedly been writing more material.

Other Information

  • Origin: Phoenix, Arizona, United States
  • Genres: Melodic death metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 1997-present
  • Labels: Metal Blade Records
  • Associated acts: Abigail Williams
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Nathan Gearheart – vocals
  2. Bjorn Dannov – guitar
  3. Kyle Moeller – guitar
  4. Mark Kozuback – bass, backing vocals
  5. Andy Schroeder – drums


  • Vehemence (1998) – Demo
  • The Thoughts from Which I Hide (2000)
  • Metal Blade Demos (2001) – Demo
  • God Was Created (2002)
  • Helping the World to See (2004)



~ by molco on October 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: