cruachanCruachan is a heavy metal band from Dublin, Ireland that has been active since the 1990s. In 1992, Keith Fay formed Cruachan with a demo recording distributed in 1993. They have been acclaimed as having “gone the greatest lengths of anyone in their attempts to expand” the genre of folk metal. With a specific focus on Celtic music and the use of Celtic mythology in their lyrics, Cruachan’s style of folk metal is known today as Celtic metal.

The year 1995 saw the release of their debut album Tuatha Na Gael. The band disbanded in 1997 but reformed in January 1999 and after signing a recording deal with Hammerheart Records, they released a second album The Middle Kingdom in 2000. Their subsequent album Folk-Lore was co-produced by Shane McGowan of The Pogues fame. The band released their fourth studio album Pagan in 2004. In 2005, the band parted ways with their label Karmageddon Media “on good terms.” For the band’s fifth album, they returned to the same Sun Studios where they had recorded their first three albums. The result was The Morrigan’s Call, the album was released in November 2006 through AFM Records.

Other Information

  • Origin: Dublin, Ireland
  • Genres: Celtic metal, Folk metal, Black metal (early)
  • Years active: 1992–present
  • Labels: AFM Records, Karmageddon Media, Hammerheart Records, Nazgul’s Eyrie Productions
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Keith Fay – guitars, keyboards, vocals, bodhrán, mandolin, percussion
  2. John Clohessy – bass
  3. Colin Purcell – drums, percussion
  4. John Ryan Will – tin whistle, violin, banjo, bouzouki, keyboards
  5. John O’ Fathaigh – tin whistle
  6. Ashling Murphy – live vocals


  • Celtica (1994) – Demo
  • Tuatha Na Gael (1995, re-released in 2001)
  • Promo ’97 (1997) – Demo
  • The Middle Kingdom (2000)
  • Folk-Lore (2002)
  • A Celtic Trilogy (2002) – Compilation
  • Pagan (2004)
  • The Morrigan’s Call (2006)
  • A Celtic Legacy (2007) – Compilation


~ by molco on September 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: