Mägo de Oz

mägo_de_ozMägo de Oz (“Wizard of Oz”), also known as simply Mägo, is a folk rock and heavy metal band from Spain. The band was formed in mid-1988 by drummer Txus. Originally, the band was called “Transilvania” named after the metallic instrumental piece of the same name from their idols, Iron Maiden. In 1992, the band was finalists in the “Villa de Madrid” contest. They went on to achieve great success in Spain and in 1995 were declared Revolution Rock Band. Around 1996 the band’s definitive line up began to emerge. That same year, they began recording the rock opera CD “Jesús de Chamberí”, produced by Alberto Plaza and Mägo de Oz. The CD was released in 1996, through Locomotive Music. On December 5, 2006, they released their very first greatest hits album Rock N’ Oz.

The band is well known for the strong Celtic feel to their music, strengthened through their usage of a violinist and flautist. The name for this band was chosen, according to founding member Txus, because “Life is a yellow brick road on which we walk in the company of others, searching for our dreams.”

Other Information

  • Origin: Madrid, Spain
  • Genres: Folk metal, Symphonic metal, Heavy metal
  • Years active: 1989–present
  • Labels: Locomotive Music, Warner Dro Atlantic
  • Website: http://www.magodeoz.com
  • Members:
  1. José Andrëa – vocals
  2. Patricia Tapia – vocals, backing vocals
  3. “Carlitos” – lead guitar, backing vocals
  4. Peri – bass, backing vocals
  5. Frank – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  6. Mohamed – violin, backing vocals
  7. Fernando Ponce de León – flutes, whistle, bagpipes
  8. Sergio “Kiskilla” Cisneros – keyboards, piano, accordion, samples
  9. Txus Di Fellatio – drums, backing vocals



  • Y qué más da (1989)
  • Canción de Cuna para un Bohemio (1990)
  • Con la Cabeza bien Alta (1992)


  • Mägo de Oz (1994)
  • Jesús de Chamberí (1996)
  • Mägo de Oz (La Bruja) (1997 reedition)
  • La Leyenda de la Mancha (1998)
  • Finisterra (2000)
  • Gaia (2003)
  • Belfast (2004)
  • Gaia II – La Voz Dormida (2005)
  • La Ciudad de los Árboles (2007)


  • Fölktergeist (2002)
  • Madrid – Las Ventas (2005)
  • A Costa da Morte (2007)
  • Barakaldo (2008)


  • Grandes (2003)
  • The Best Oz (2006)
  • Rock N’ Oz (2008)


~ by molco on September 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: