myGRAIN is a melodic death metal band from Helsinki, Finland. Formed from their former band, New Science Band. The guys had been playing together since 1999 and as their collaboration still worked well, why not start a new band with this lineup. The main idea from the beginning was to play rough metal with melodies.

A few weeks after the recordings of “The Red Frame”, Spinefarm Records contacted the band and they inked a deal. The first fruit of their collaboration was the debut album Orbit Dance, released in April 2006. The debut album consisted of eleven songs of modern metal, with influences of both Nordic melodic death metal and the American style. As they are considered to be on its best on live performances, they focused on touring in Finland as much as possible after the release of “Orbit Dance” in 2006. They still managed to write songs in between the gigs so in February 2008 their second album “Signs of Existence” was ready to be released. The album has developed band’s rough but melodic sound into deeper and more confident style than ever before.

Other Information

  • Origin: Helsinki, Finland
  • Genres: Melodic death metal
  • Years active: 2004–present
  • Labels: Spinefarm Records
  • Associated acts: Misery Inc., …And Oceans
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Tommy “To(mm)yboy” – vocals
  2. Resistor – guitars
  3. Teemu Ylämäki – guitars
  4. Jonas – bass
  5. Eve Kojo – keyboard
  6. DJ Locomotive – drums


  • Demo 2004 (2004) – Demo
  • The Red Frame (2005) – Demo
  • Orbit Dance (2006)
  • Signs of Existence (2008)



~ by molco on September 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: