suidakraSuidAkrA is a melodic death metal band from Germany with Celtic folk influences. The band was formed in 1994 by guitarist Arkadius Antonik and drummer Stefan Möller under the name Gloryfication. The band recorded two demos with varying lineups, until finally solidifying its line-up with keyboardist Daniela Voigt, guitarist Marcel Schoenen and bassist Christoph Zacharowski. Later in the same year the band’s name was changed to SuidAkrA (Arkadius spelled backwards). They are also known for their use of traditional instruments to augment their sound, such as the bagpipe, banjo, and tin whistle.

In 1997, the band released their first album, the self-published Lupine Essence. Their eighth studio release, titled Caledonia, was released on November 17, 2006. From 5–12 August 2007 some old tracks were re-recorded for a Best Of compilation titled 13 Years of Celtic Wartunes. They released their ninth studio album Crógacht on February 20, 2009 in Germany, February 23 in the rest of Europe, and March 3 in the USA and they supported this album with a US and European tour throughout 2009.

Other Information

  • Origin: Düsseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Genres: Melodic death metal, Folk metal, Celtic metal
  • Years active: 1994–present
  • Labels: Last Episode, Century Media Records, Armageddon Music
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Arkadius Antonik – guitars, vocals
  2. Sebastian Hintz – guitar, vocals
  3. Marcus Riewaldt – bass
  4. Lars Wehner – drums



  • Dawn (1995) – Demo
  • Lupine Essence (1997)
  • Auld Lang Syne (1998)
  • Lays from Afar (1999)
  • The Arcanum (2000)
  • Emprise to Avalon (2002)
  • Signs for the Fallen (2003)
  • Command to Charge (2005)
  • Caledonia (2006)
  • 13 Years of Celtic Wartunes (2008) – Compilation
  • Crógacht (2009)



~ by molco on September 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: