manesManes is a band from Trondheim, Norway, which was formed in 1993. They started out as a two-piece band composed of Sargatanas and Cernunnus (or Cern). They are currently signed to Candlelight Records, but were originally on Hammerheart Records and the Italian experimental label Code666. The band’s earlier works, up to and including Under Ein Blodraud Maane, are somewhat atypicical Norwegian black metal and are highly lauded by fans of the genre. However as of Vilosophe the band has completely changed its sound to a hybrid of Jazz, Trip-hop, electronica and Metal with clean sung vocals and many progressive overtones. In spite of being highly acclaimed by critics this subsequent change of direction has alienated most of their original fan base.

In 2004 they played at the Inferno Metal Festival. they also performed at a one-day festival called Klubb Kanin: Sommer (UFFA, Trondheim) on the 3rd of July 2004 under the name “Dancing With Your Hands Bound [Nearly Manes]”. It was a collaboration between a stripped-down Manes and the Trondheim noise-duo Bush Revolution. Manes has now morphed into a new project: kkoagulaa.

Other Information

  • Origin: Trondheim, Norway
  • Genres: Avant-garde Metal, Black metal
  • Years active: 1993–present
  • Labels: Code666 Records, Kyrck Productions, Faceless.Nameless.Shapeless Records, Candlelight Records, Hammerheart Records
  • Associated acts: kkoagulaa
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Cernunnus – guitars, electronics
  2. Eivind Ford – guitar
  3. Torstein Parelius – bass
  • Associated members
  1. Tor Arne Helgesen – drums on tour and on album
  2. Asgeir Hatlen – vocals
  3. Rune Hoemsnes – drums, percussion


  • Maanens Natt (1993) – Demo
  • Ned i Stillheten (1994) – Demo
  • Til Kongens Grav de Døde Vandrer (1995) – Demo
  • Under Ein Blodraud Maane (1999)
  • Vilosophe (2003)
  • 1993-1994 (2005) – Compilation
  • Til kongens grav de døde vandrer (2006)
  • [view] (2006) – EP,
  • Svarte Skoger (2006) – Demo/compilation
  • How the world came to an end (2007)
  • Reinvention (2008) – Remix
  • Manes / Manes(2009) – Split
  • Solve et Coagula (2009)



~ by molco on September 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: