Summoning is an Austrian black metal band, formed sometime in 1993 by Silenius (Michael Gregor), Protector (Richard Lederer) and Trifixion (Alexander Trondl). Thye recorded two demos (Upon the Viking’s Stallion and Anno Mortiri Domini), as well as a split with the Austrian band Pazuzu (The Urilia Text) and a five-track promo tape for Lugburz. Nearly all songs from the demos were never released after or took place on CDs in a very different version. The band continued as a duo after the departure of Trifixion, releasing Minas Morgul in 1995.

They are known in part due to their extensive use of J. R. R. Tolkien’s Middle-earth mythology as lyrical subject. A notable exception to this is the album Stronghold. On their debut album Lugburz, the band showed the musical traits of a more traditional, raw black metal band, although had a reverberated sound to the production. After this album, the band began to develop a slower, denser, and more epic sound to their music, showcased in such albums as 2001’s Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame, and in Oath Bound.

Other Information

  • Origin: Vienna, Austria
  • Genres: Black metal, Epic black metal
  • Years active: 1993-present
  • Labels: Napalm Records
  • Associated acts: Abigor, Die Verbannten Kinder Evas, Kreuzweg Ost, Ice Ages, Pazuzu, Mirkwood, Grabesmond, Amestigon
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Protector (Richard Lederer) – guitar, vocals, keyboards
  2. Silenius (Michael Gregor) – bass, vocals, keyboards


  • Upon The Viking Stallion (1993) – Demo
  • The Urilia Text (1994) – Split
  • Anno Mortiri Domini (1994) – Demo
  • PromoTape (1994) – Demo
  • Minas Morgul (1995) – Demo
  • Lugburz (1995)
  • Minas Morgul (1995)
  • Dol Guldur (1996)
  • Nightshade Forests (1997) – EP
  • Stronghold (1999)
  • Let Mortal Heroes Sing Your Fame (2001)
  • Lost Tales (2003) – EP
  • Oath Bound (2006)
  • Sounds of Middle Earth (2007) – Compilations


Protector (Richard Lederer) – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Drum programming (Die Verbannten Kinder Evas, Ice Ages, Grabesmond, Pazuzu (Aut), Marlignom)
Silenius (Michael Gregor) – Vocals, Keyboards, Bass (Kreuzweg Ost, Amestigon, Die Verbannten Kinder Evas, Pazuzu (Aut), Abigor, Shadow Vale, Mirkwood (Aut), Cromm)

~ by molco on August 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: