Oh, Sleeper

oh_sleeperOh, Sleeper is a Christian metalcore band from Ft. Worth, Texas. Their name is a reference to Ephesians 5:14 which reads, “Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” Formed in April 2006 after former member, Ryan Conley, of the short-lived rock band Terminal got together with former Evelynn and Between the Buried and Me guitarist Shane Blay and former Terminal bassist Lucas Starr (who was at the time with As Cities Burn). Eventually they found a vocalist in Micah Kinard and began practicing. As the 4 members began sledging through all the normal problems of a band start-up until they add James Erwin to the lineup, the band released an EP during this time titled The Armored March, through 1×1 music.

The band signed with Solid State Records in the summer of 2007. Their debut album, When I Am God, was released on October 23, 2007. They also supported Demon Hunter on their “Stronger Than Hell Tour” alongside Living Sacrifice, Advent, and The Famine. In 2009, they release a new album titled Son of the Morning. The album is a concept album based on the final battle between the devil and God.

Other Information

  • Origin: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
  • Genres: Metalcore, Post-Hardcore, Christian metal
  • Years active: 2006-Present
  • Labels: 1×1 music, Solid State Records
  • Associated acts: Terminal, Between the Buried and Me, As Cities Burn
  • Website: http://www.weareohsleeper.com
  • Members:
  1. Micah Kinard – vocals
  2. Shane Blay – guitar, vocals
  3. James Erwin – guitar
  4. Lucas Starr – bass
  5. Matt Davis – drums



  • The Armored March (2006) – EP
  • When I Am God (2007)
  • Son of the Morning (2009)



~ by molco on August 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: