Nine Inch Nails

nine_inch_nailsNine Inch Nails is an American industrial metal act, founded in 1988 by Trent Reznor in Cleveland, Ohio. As its main producer, singer, songwriter, and instrumentalist, Reznor is the only official member of Nine Inch Nails and remains solely responsible for its direction. NIN’s music straddles a wide range of genres, while retaining a characteristic sound using electronic instruments and processing. Its live performances contrast with its in-studio counterpart, he has typically assembled groups of backing musicians to interpret songs for tours and other live performances. The live band lineup has changed consistently throughout the band’s history, with Reznor remaining the only constant on vocals, guitar, and synthesizers.

Since 1989, NIN has made eight major studio releases. The most recent releases, Ghosts I–IV and The Slip, both released in 2008, were released under Creative Commons licenses. Both were initially released digitally, with physical releases coming later. The digital release of The Slip was made available completely free of charge. NIN has been nominated for twelve Grammy Awards and won twice for the songs “Wish” and “Happiness in Slavery”, in 1992 and 1995 respectively.

Other Information

  • Origin: Cleveland, Ohio, United States
  • Genres: Industrial metal, Industrial rock, Alternative rock
  • Years active: 1988–present
  • Labels: The Null Corporation, Interscope Records, Nothing Records, TVT Records, Island Records, Rykodisc Records
  • Associated acts: Marilyn Manson, Tapeworm, Exotic Birds
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Trent Reznor – lead vocals, guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, synthesizers
  2. Robin Finck – guitar, synthesizers (Live)
  3. Justin Meldal-Johnsen – bass (Live)
  4. Ilan Rubin – drums (Live)



  • Pretty Hate Machine (1989)
  • Broken (1992) – EP
  • Fixed (1992) – EP
  • The Downward Spiral (1994)
  • Closure (1997) – Live
  • The Fragile (1999)
  • And All That Could Have Been (2002) – Live
  • With Teeth (2005)
  • Beside You in Time (2007) – Live
  • Year Zero (2007)
  • Ghosts I–IV (2008)
  • The Slip (2008)



~ by molco on August 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: