spineshankSpineshank is an American Grammy-nominated Nu metal band. Formed in February 1996, Spineshank was assembled from the remains of a previous musical endeavor called “Basic Enigma”. That band included future Spineshank members in vocalist Jonny Santos, guitarist Mike Sarkisyan and drummer Tom Decker. Upon hearing Fear Factory’s 1995 release Demanufacture, a new bassist in Robert Garcia was recruited, and with a refined musical style, Spineshank was formed.

The band was featured at Ozzfest 2001, and toured with such artists as Disturbed, Hed PE, Orgy and Mudvayne in support of the album’s release. In December 2008, they said they had recorded ten songs, but that these recordings would not be the final masters. The band has also been confirmed to tour with Disturbed as part of the Music as a Weapon tour in 2009. So far, the new songs have shown a significant evolution in the band’s music, shifting from the nu-metal label to a music that mixes Alternative Metal with elements of Metalcore and Electronica.

Other Information

  • Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA
  • Genres: Nu metal, Industrial metal, Metalcore (recent)
  • Years active: 1996-present
  • Label: Roadrunner Records
  • Associated acts: Silent Civilian
  • Website: http://www.myspace.com/spineshank
  • Members:
  1. Jonny Santos – vocals
  2. Mike Sarkisyan – guitar
  3. Robert Garcia – bass
  4. Tom Decker – drums



  • Strictly Diesel (1998)
  • The Height of Callousness (2000)
  • Self-Destructive Pattern (2003)
  • The Best of Spineshank (2008)



~ by molco on July 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: