otepOtep is an American heavy metal band formed in 2000 in Los Angeles, California by Otep Shamaya. The band was signed after only four shows, without a demo, strictly on the power of their live performance. Their live performance proved to be so impressive that Sharon Osbourne offered the unsigned act a spot on the 2001 Ozzfest tour. Since then Otep has appeared at the festival three times. To date, the band has released three full lengths, one EP and toured in support of all four releases.

On April 6, 2009, it was announced that Otep is now signed to Victory Records. On April 7, 2009 Shamaya announced that the new album will also mark the band reuniting with former members Mark “Moke” Bistany on drums and Rob Patterson on guitar. They stated a song titled “Rise, Rebel, Resist” from the new album, Smash the Control Machine, slated for release August 18, 2009, will appear on the 2009 Vans Warped Tour various artists CD. However, “Smash the Control Machine” will be the first song to be heard off the new album , receiving air play in June 2009.

Other Information

  • Origin: Los Angeles, California, USA
  • Genres: Nu metal, Alternative metal, Heavy metal
  • Years active: 2000–present
  • Labels: Capitol Records, Koch Ent., Victory Records
  • Website: http://www.otep.com
  • Members:
  1. Otep Shamaya – vocals
  2. “Evil” J. McGuire – bass
  3. Rob Patterson – guitar
  4. Mark “Moke” Bistany – drums


  • Jihad (2001) – EP
  • Sevas Tra (2002)
  • House of Secrets (2004)
  • Wurd Becomes Flesh (2005) – EP
  • the_Ascension (2007)
  • Smash the Control Machine (2009)



~ by molco on July 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: