Stratovarius is a Finnish power metal band that formed in 1984, originally under the name Black Water, but was later changed to Stratovarius in 1985. Their material contains elements of power metal and symphonic metal. The band released a demo to various record companies by 1987 and was picked up by CBS Finland. In 1988, they released their first two singles, “Future Shock” and “Black Night,” followed by their 1989 debut album “Fright Night”. In 1997, they released their 6th album “Visions” and also saw the release of their first compilation album “The Past and Now”. In 2000, saw the released of their 8th album “Infinite” and later toured with Sonata Arctica and Rhapsody of Fire. In these years, the group also released 3 new compilation albums: The Chosen Ones in 1999, 14 Diamonds in 2000, and Intermission in 2001.

In 2003, the band released its most epic project yet, the two-album suite named Elements. With these albums, they reached a peak in their progressive and symphonic style of power metal. The first album, Elements, Pt. 1, was released in early 2003, followed by a world tour. The same year, it was followed by Elements, Pt. 2, both released on Nuclear Blast. Their latest full-length today is “Polaris”, which was released in May 21, 2009.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Black Water
  • Origin: Helsinki, Finland
  • Genres: Power metal, Melodic power metal, Neo-classical metal, Symphonic metal, Speed metal (early)
  • Years active: 1984-present
  • Labels: Edel/E-A-R Music, Nuclear Blast, Sanctuary Records, Noise Records
  • Associated acts: Revolution Renaissance, Cain’s Offering, Kotipelto, Project Strato
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Timo Kotipelto – vocals
  2. Matias Kupiainen – guitars
  3. Lauri Porra – bass
  4. Jens Johansson – keyboards
  5. Jörg Michael – drums




  • Fright Night (1989)
  • Twilight Time (1992)
  • Dreamspace (1994)
  • Fourth Dimension (1995)
  • Episode (1996)
  • Visions (1997)
  • Destiny (1998)
  • Infinite (2000)
  • Elements, Pt. 1 (2003)
  • Elements, Pt. 2 (2003)
  • Stratovarius (2005)
  • Polaris (2009)

Demos, Live and DVDs

  • Demo (1987) – Demo
  • Visions of Europe (1998) – Live
  • Infinite Visions (2000) – DVD
  • Revolution Renaissance (2008) – Demo


  • The Past and Now (1998)
  • The Chosen Ones (1999)
  • 14 Diamonds (2000)
  • Intermission (2001)
  • Black Diamond: The Anthology (2006)



~ by molco on July 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: