nightwishNightwish is a symphonic power metal band, from Kitee, Finland, formed in 1996 by songwriter/keyboardist Tuomas Holopainen and guitarist Emppu Vuorinen. They performs a blend of power metal and symphonic metal. Their music has been described as “bombastic, symphonic and cinematic, with keyboards and strings creating a gothic atmosphere.” While the music of Nightwish is “laced with accessible pop sensibilities,” the band is also known to be complex and multi-layered. Their approach is epic, theatrical and operatic.

The band has sold more than 7 million CDs, DVDs and online material internationally. In May 2007, former Alyson Avenue frontwoman, Anette Olzon, was revealed as Turunen’s replacement, and in the autumn, the band released a new album – Dark Passion Play, which has sold more than 980,000 copies. A tour supporting the album is currently in progress. It started on October 6, 2007 and will end on September 19, 2009. A new E.P./live album, Made in Hong Kong (And in Various Other Places), was released in March 2009 as a MCD/DVD.

Other Information

  • Origin: Kitee, Finland
  • Genres: Power metal, Symphonic metal
  • Years active: 1996–present
  • Labels: Spinefarm, Nuclear Blast, Roadrunner, NEMS Enterprises, Century Media, Drakkar Entertainment
  • Associated acts: After Forever, Altaria, Alyson Avenue, Barilari, Brother Firetribe, Darkwoods My Betrothed, Delain , For My Pain…, Nattvindens Gråt, Northern Kings, PAIN, Sethian, Sinergy, Sonata Arctica, Tarja Turunen, Timo Rautiainen, Tarot
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Anette Olzon – female vocals
  2. Tuomas Holopainen – keyboard
  3. Emppu Vuorinen – guitar
  4. Marco Hietala – bass, male vocals
  5. Jukka Nevalainen – drums, percussion


  • Angels Fall First (1997)
  • Oceanborn (1998)
  • Wishmaster (2000)
  • Century Child (2002)
  • Once (2004)
  • Dark Passion Play (2007)
  • TBA (2010)


  • Nightwish demo (1996)- Demo
  • From Wishes to Eternity (2000) – Live
  • Over the Hills and Far Away (2001) – EP
  • End of Innocence (2003) – Live
  • Highest Hopes (2005) – Compilation
  • End of an Era (2006) – Live
  • Made in Hong Kong (And in Various Other Places) (2009) – EP, Live


~ by molco on July 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: