sireniaSirenia is a gothic metal band from Stavanger, Norway. They came together in early 2001, when Morten parted ways with his former band Tristania due to musical disagreements and personal differences. They incorporates a mixture of gothic metal and symphonic metal, as well as extreme metal and death metal elements. The lyrics, written by Morten Veland, tell a loose conceptual story that began at Widow’s Weeds, while he was still a member of Tristania. The band uses melodic instrumentals, synthesizers, and distorted guitars with female vocals, male death vocals, clean male vocals, a choir and violins. The lyrics are concerned with human existence, emotion, and mental states.

On June 12, 2008, Sirenia announced that for the first time in their career, they had decided to work with a bassplayer for their live shows. The session bass player will be Kristian Olav Torp.. Their new album, called “The 13th Floor”, was completed on September and the release date was January 23, 2009.

Other Information

  • Origin: Stavanger, Norway
  • Genres: Gothic metal, Symphonic Metal
  • Years active: 2001–present
  • Labels: Napalm Records, Nuclear Blast
  • Associated acts: Artifact, Tristania, Sinphonia
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Morten Veland – programming, growling, clean Vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards
  2. Ailyn – female vocals
  3. Jonathan A. Perez – drums
  4. Michael S. Krumins – guitar


  • At Sixes and Sevens (2002)
  • An Elixir for Existence (2004)
  • Sirenian Shores (2004) – EP
  • Nine Destinies and a Downfall (2007)
  • The 13th Floor (2009)



~ by molco on July 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: