epicaEpica is a Dutch symphonic metal band founded by guitarist and vocalist Mark Jansen subsequent to his departure from After Forever, due to creative differences. He then began looking for musicians who would work towards a more classical/symphonic type of music project; this was initially named “Sahara Dust”. The name was later changed to Epica, inspired by Kamelot’s eponymous album. Their music is aggressive, bombastic and excessive with some songs being “epic, grand and majestic” and others “more subdued and introspective.” The group is also known to employ human choirs and orchestras with additional embellishments such as spoken word recitals and lyrics in Latin and Arabic.

The Classical Conspiracy is Epica’s first live album. The live show also included a 40-piece orchestra and a 30-piece choir. It was released on May 8, 2009 through Nuclear Blast Records. On March 4, 2009, they announced their return to the studio where they have already begun recording new material. The album will be released in September or early October 2009 entitled “Design Your Universe”.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Sahara Dust
  • Origin: Netherlands
  • Genres: Symphonic metal, Gothic metal, Progressive metal
  • Years active: 2003–present
  • Labels: Transmission Records, Nuclear Blast
  • Associated acts: Kamelot, After Forever
  • Website: http://www.epica.nl
  • Members:
  1. Simone Simons – mezzo-soprano vocals
  2. Mark Jansen – guitar, grunts, screams
  3. Isaac Delahaye – guitar
  4. Yves Huts – bass
  5. Coen Janssen – synthesizer, piano
  6. Ariën Van Weesenbeek – drums



Studio albums

  • 2003: The Phantom Agony
  • 2005: Consign to Oblivion
  • 2007: The Divine Conspiracy
  • 2009: Design Your Universe

Demo, EPs and singles

  • 2003: “The Phantom Agony”
  • 2003: Cry for the Moon – Demo
  • 2004: “Feint”
  • 2004: “Cry for the Moon”
  • 2005: “Solitary Ground”
  • 2005: “Quietus (Silent Reverie)”
  • 2007: “Never Enough”
  • 2008: “Chasing the Dragon”

Compilations and other recordings

  • 2004: We Will Take You With Us
  • 2005: The Score – An Epic Journey
  • 2006: The Road to Paradiso
  • 2009: The Classical Conspiracy


~ by molco on July 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Epica”

  1. I just saw them last night. I think everyone in the audience was in love with Simone by the end.

  2. a similar bands: http://tarrazu.wordpress.com/category/estilo-nightwish/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: