HammerFall is a heavy/power metal band from Gothenburg, Sweden. The band was formed in 1993 by ex-Ceremonial Oath’s guitarist Oscar Dronjak.

In 1998, they made some expressive concerts before the release of their 2nd album “Legacy of Kings”, playing in festivals together with bands such as Alice Cooper, Rammstein, Deep Purple, Dream Theater, Saxon and Stratovarius. In 2002, they released a DVD “The Templar Renegade Crusades”, which included video footage from recording sessions, live concerts, tour backstages, and encounters with fans. The live album and DVD “One Crimson Night” was released in 2003. After two years of hiatus the band released their 5th album “Chapter V: Unbent, Unbowed, Unbroken”, which was followed by a European and South American tour. Their 6th album “Threshold”, was released on 2006 and it went directly to a number 1 position on the Swedish charts. On 2008, they released the compilation album “Masterpieces”. The album has on it a collection of every song the band has covered, plus three new cover songs previously unreleased. Their 7th studio album “No Sacrifice, No Victory”, was released in the UK on February 23, 2009. The Album peaked at #38 on the Billboard heatseakers charts.

Other Information

  • Origin: Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Genres: Heavy metal, Power metal, Speed metal
  • Years active: 1993–present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast, Vic Records
  • Associated acts: Dionysus, In Flames, Dark Tranquillity, Ceremonial Oath, Cans, Full Force
  • Website: http://www.hammerfall.net
  • Members:
  1. Joacim Cans – vocals
  2. Oscar Dronjak – guitars, backing vocals
  3. Pontus Norgren – guitars, backing vocals
  4. Fredrik Larsson – bass, backing vocals
  5. Anders Johansson – drums



  • Glory to the Brave (1997)
  • Legacy of Kings (1998)
  • Renegade (2000)
  • Crimson Thunder (2002)
  • Chapter V: Unbent, Unbowed, Unbroken (2005)
  • Threshold (2006)
  • No Sacrifice, No Victory (2009)


  • Steel Meets Steel: 10 Years of Glory (2007)
  • Masterpieces (2008)


  • Glory to the Brave (1997)
  • Heeding the Call (1998)
  • I Want Out (1999)


  • The First Crusade (1999)
  • The Templar Renegade Crusades (2002)
  • Hearts on Fire (2002)
  • One Crimson Night (2003)
  • Rebels with a Cause – Unruly, Unrestrained, Uninhibited (2008)


  • One Crimson Night (2003)

Boxed set

  • The Vinyl Single Collection (2008)



~ by molco on July 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: