Manowar is a heavy metal band from Auburn, New York, United States, formed in 1980. The band is popular that took the machismo typical of metal and pushed it to Conan the Barbarian-like extremes, with morbid and mythological themes. In 1984, the band was included in the Guinness Book of World Records for delivering the loudest performance, a record which they have since broken on 3 occasions. They also hold the world record for the longest heavy metal concert after playing for 5 hours and 1 minute in Bulgaria in 2008.

Although the band has never been a mainstream commercial success in the United States, they maintain a strong cult following there. In contrast, they are extremely popular in the heavy metal scene in Europe, Japan, Australia and South America. Dedicated fans are known and referred to by the band as “Manowarriors” or “Immortals”, and collectively their fans are known as the “Army of Immortals”. In 2009, they released their 1oth full-lengths “Gods Of War”. In early 2010, the band was set in “Death To Infidels Tour”, joining them are labelmates in Magic Circle Music Holyhell and Metalforce.

Other Information

  • Origin: Auburn, New York, United States
  • Genres: Heavy metal, Power metal
  • Years active: 1980-present
  • Labels: Magic Circle Music, Atco Records, Atlantic Records, Geffen Records, Metal Blade Records, Nuclear Blast Records
  • Associated acts: HolyHell, Rhapsody of Fire, The Dictators, David Shankle Group, The Rods
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Eric Adams – vocals
  2. Karl Logan – guitars, keyboards
  3. Joey DeMaio – bass, keyboards
  4. Scott Columbus – drums




  • Battle Hymns (1982)
  • Into Glory Ride (1983)
  • Hail to England (1984)
  • Sign of the Hammer (1984)
  • Fighting the World (1987)
  • Kings of Metal (1988)
  • The Triumph of Steel (1992)
  • Louder Than Hell (1996)
  • Warriors of the World (2002)
  • Gods of War (2007)
  • Hammer of the Gods (2010)


  • Demo ’81 (1981)


  • Hell on Wheels (1997)
  • Hell on Stage (1999)
  • Gods of War Live (2007)


  • The Sons of Odin (2006)
  • Thunder in the Sky (2009)


  • Manowar Kills (1992)
  • The Hell of Steel: Best of Manowar (1994)
  • Anthology (1997)
  • The Kingdom of Steel (1998)
  • Steel Warriors (1998)
  • Classics (2009)


  • Hell on Earth Part I (2000)


  • Hell on Earth Part I (2001)
  • Warriors of the World United (2002)
  • Fire And Blood (2002)
  • Hell on Earth III (2003)
  • Hell on Earth IV (2005)
  • The Absolute Power (2006)
  • Magic Circle Festival Volume 1 (2007)
  • Magic Circle Festival Volume 2 (2008)
  • Hell on Earth V (2009)

Boxed set

  • Secrets of Steel (1997)



~ by molco on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: