The Human Abstract

the_human_abstractThe Human Abstract is a progressive metal band influenced by metalcore and neo-classical metal. They are from Los Angeles, California. The band’s name references a poem of the same title by William Blake (Songs of Experience, 1794). Guitarists Dean Herrera and A.J. Minette formed The Human Abstract in 2004, adding drummer Brett Powell, bassist Kenny Arehart, and singer Nick Olaerts. The band recorded a couple of demos and played a number of regional gigs before signing with Hopeless Records in 2005. Soon after signing to Hopeless Records, THA replaced singer Nick Olaerts with Nathan Ells.

Nathan Ells joined the band before heading into the studio to record the band’s debut full length release “Nocturne”. They released their debut album Nocturne on Hopeless Records on August 22, 2006. Their album Midheaven was released on August 19, 2008. The band has been critically acclaimed for their technical proficiency and stage presence. In early 2009, The Human Abstract began opening their live set with a new, instrumental, as-of-yet untitled song co-written by A.J. Minette. A return to their more technical and progressive roots.

Other Information

  • Origin: Los Angeles, California, United States
  • Genres: Progressive metal, Metalcore, Mathcore, Neo-classical metal
  • Years active: 2003–present
  • Label: Hopeless Records
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Nathan Ells – vocals
  2. Andrew Tapley – guitar
  3. Dean Herrera – guitar
  4. Brett Powell – drums
  5. Henry Selva – bass


  • The Human Abstract (2005) – EP
  • Nocturne (2006)
  • Midheaven (2008)



~ by molco on June 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: