coalesceCoalesce is a 4-piece mathcore band from Kansas City, Missouri. The band formed in January 1994, consisting of Jes Steineger (guitar), Stacy Hilt (bass) and Jim Redd (drums). During this time they were using the name Breach, and around Easter of 1994, Sean Ingram joined the band to fill the vocal position, and the four members opted to use the name Coalesce, to avoid confusion with a Sweden-based band. With the name issues amended, Coalesce entered West End Studios to record a demo. This work was pressed to a 7″ EP that sold out rapidly.

On February 9, 2007 Coalesce announced, via MySpace, that they intend to do some touring in August 2007. Possible areas include Europe, Japan and the United States (East Coast). Coalesce’s 2009 full-length record Ox features 14 songs and will be released on June 9 (North America) and June 15 (international) on Relapse Records. The band is planning to do a two week headlining tour of Europe. In addition, the band recently completed the Ox EP which will be released later in the year.

Other Information

  • Also known as: Inception, Breach
  • Origin: Kansas City, Missouri, United States
  • Genres: Mathcore, Metalcore, Hardcore
  • Years active: 1994–1999, 2005 – Present
  • Labels: Relapse, Second Nature
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Sean Ingram – vocals
  2. Jes Steineger – guitar
  3. Nathan Ellis – bass
  4. Nathan “Jr.” Richardson – drums


  • 1998: Give Them Rope
  • 1998: Functioning on Impatience
  • 1999: 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening
  • 2009: Ox



~ by molco on June 12, 2009.

One Response to “Coalesce”

  1. OX is such a bad ass album! Brutal to the extreme, with undertones of a Midwest upbringing. I highly recommend this album!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: