Synthetic Breed

synthetic_breedSynthetic Breed are an Australian extreme metal band formed in Melbourne, 2002. Originated as a four piece, consisting of Vincent Zylstra and Reza Nasseri, Jonas Bahlo and Mark Condello. Nick Bose joined and left the band a number of times, but never actually played drums live. By March 2004, after many months of auditioning suitable drummers, Daniel Luttick had been brought into the line up. The line up lasted two shows: after the show at EV’s Metalfest, the band played one more show at the Green Room in Melbourne before singer Mark Condello broke with the band. By the start of October 2004, they were back on stage with Nasseri taking on vocal duties, but on the 13th of April 2005 new singer Cal Hughes played his first show with the band, though he had already once replaced Reza, suffering from a cold, during a show in April.

They supported Swedish metal group Arch Enemy on their Australian tour. After a successful appearance at the With Full Force Festival (Leipzig, Germany) in 2006, Nasseri left the band and was eventually replaced by Darcy Mildren. The band signed a record deal with Faultline Records for the release of Catatonic. 2008 saw the departure of Mildren as the band returned to a four piece.

Other Information

  • Origin: Melbourne, Australia
  • Genres: Extreme metal, Industrial metal
  • Years active: 2002 – present
  • Label: Faultline Records
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Cal Hughes – vocals
  2. Vincent Zylstra – guitar, backing vocals
  3. Jonas Bahlo – bass, backing vocals
  4. Daniel Luttick – drums



  • Synthetic Breed (2003) – EP
  • Fractured (2005) – EP
  • Synthetic Breed (2007) – EP
  • With Full Force/Live in Germany (2006) – Live
  • Fractured (2007) – Compilation
  • Catatonic (2008)



~ by molco on June 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: