My Dying Bride

my_dying_brideMy Dying Bride is a British doom metal band formed in 1990. My Dying Bride is one of the three bands responsible for the formation of death/doom metal, along with Anathema and Paradise Lost. They were formed in Halifax in the north of England in June 1990 after lead guitarist Andrew Craighan left his former band Abiosis to join Aaron Stainthorpe, Calvin Robertshaw and Rick Miah. After six months of rehearsing, the band recorded and released their demo, Towards the Sinister. Its title was taken from a line in the song “Symphonaire Infernus et Spera Empyrium”.

Their music is characterised by romantic, sensual lyrics, often using gothic themes and imagery, and an obsessive attention to atmospheric detail. The lyrics are often inspired by early Modern English in the diction and use of metaphors; for example, in the song “For My Fallen Angel” (from Like Gods of the Sun) they included a quotation from a William Shakespeare poem. To date, they has released one demo, three EPs, several singles, ten full-length studio albums, one box set, four compilation albums, one live album, one live CD/DVD release, and several video releases. The band released its tenth studio album, For Lies I Sire, on March 23, 2009.

Other Information

  • Origin: Halifax, West Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom
  • Genres: Doom metal, Gothic metal, Death/doom metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 1990—present
  • Label: Peaceville Records
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Aaron Stainthorpe – Vocals
  2. Hamish Glencross – Guitar
  3. Andrew Craighan – Guitar
  4. Lena Abé – Bass
  5. Dan Mullins – Drums
  6. Katie Stone – Violin, Keyboards


Studio Albums

  • (1992) As the Flower Withers
  • (1993) Turn Loose the Swans
  • (1995) The Angel and the Dark River
  • (1996) Like Gods of the Sun
  • (1998) 34.788%…Complete
  • (1999) The Light at the End of the World
  • (2001) The Dreadful Hours
  • (2004) Songs of Darkness, Words of Light
  • (2006) A Line of Deathless Kings
  • (2009) For Lies I Sire

Demos, singles and EPs

  • (1990) Towards the Sinister (demo)
  • (1991) God Is Alone (7″)
  • (1991) Symphonaire Infernus et Spera Empyrium (EP)
  • (1992) The Thrash of Naked Limbs (Single)
  • (1993) Unreleased Bitterness (7″)
  • (1994) I Am the Bloody Earth (Single)
  • (1994) The Sexuality of Bereavement (7″)
  • (2006) Deeper Down (Single)


  • (1994) The Stories (box set)
  • (1995) Trinity
  • (2000) Meisterwerk 1
  • (2001) Meisterwerk 2
  • (2002) The Voice of the Wretched (live)
  • (2005) Anti-Diluvian Chronicles
  • (2008) An Ode to Woe (live, also contains DVD version)



~ by molco on June 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: