Dimmu Borgir

dimmu_borgirDimmu Borgir is a Norwegian black metal band from Oslo, Norway, formed in 1993. “Dimmu Borgir” means “Dark Cities” or “Dark Fortresses” in Icelandic and Old Norse. The name is derived from a volcanic formation in Iceland, Dimmuborgir. The band has been through numerous line-up changes over the years, with guitarist Silenoz and Vocalist Shagrath being the only founding members left.

They started as a melodic black metal band in 1993. Formed by Shagrath, Silenoz, and Tjodalv, the band released an EP in 1994 entitled “Inn i evighetens mørke” (“Into the Darkness of Eternity” in English). This short EP sold out within weeks, and the band followed up with the 1994 full length album “For all tid” (For all Time in english) . This album featured musical contributions by members of Dødheimsgard and Ved Buens Ende. The initial lineup consisted of Shagrath playing drums with Tjodalv on guitar and Silenoz backing vocals, however this changed before the release of Stormblåst (translates to “Storm Blown”) on Cacophonous Records in 1996. Stormblåst received high praise from many melodic black metal fans, and is often regarded as a highlight of the band’s career. It is also the last album which features all lyrics written and sung in Norwegian. In 2009, another members left the band, now only 3 members are active and in 2010, they will released their 9th full-length, but none specific release date yet.

Other Information

  • Origin: Oslo, Norway
  • Genres: Symphonic black metal, Black metal, Melodic black metal, Extreme metal
  • Years active: 1993-present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast, Cacophonous Records, No Colours Records
  • Associated acts: Old Man’s Child, Cradle of Filth, Carpe Tenebrum, The Kovenant, Mayhem, Arcturus, Chrome Division, Code, Susperia, Dødheimsgard, Nile, Borknagar, Nachtmystium, Ragnarok, Angelcorpse, God Dethroned, Vesania, Vader, Infernal Method
  • Website: http://www.dimmu-borgir.com
  • Members:
  1. Shagrath (Stian Thoresen) – vocals, keyboards
  2. Silenoz (Sven Atle Kopperud) – guitars
  3. Galder (Thomas Rune Andersen) – guitars
  4. Daray (Dariusz Brzozowski) – drums (live)


  • For all tid (1994)
  • Stormblåst (1996)
  • Enthrone Darkness Triumphant (1997)
  • Spiritual Black Dimensions (1999)
  • Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (2001)
  • Death Cult Armageddon (2003)
  • Stormblåst MMV (2005)
  • In Sorte Diaboli (2007)


  • Rehearsal January 1994 (1994)
  • Rehearsal (1994)


  • Inn I Evighetens Mørke (1994)
  • Devil’s Path (1996)
  • Godless Savage Garden (1998)
  • Alive in Torment (2002)
  • World Misanthropy (2002)


  • Devil’s Path/In the Shades of Life (1999)
  • True Kings of Norway (2000)
  • Dimmu Borgir/Kataklysm (2005)


  • World Misanthropy (2002)
  • Death Cult Armageddon (2003)
  • The Invaluable Darkness (2008)


  • Live & Plugged vol.2 (1998)



~ by molco on June 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: