ragnarokRagnarok is a Norwegian black metal band. The band was formed in Sarpsborg, Norway in 1994 by Jerv and Jontho, after they left Thoth, their previous band. Lyrical themes include paganism, Vikings, anti-Christianity, and Satanism. The band’s name comes from the Old Norse word ragnarok, which in Norse mythology refers to a prophesied war of the gods. They made a name for themselves locally by recording demo tracks and a compilation album including the song Et Vinterland i Nord with their original lineup, consisting of Jerv on bass, Jontho on drums, Rym on guitar and Thyme as the vocalist. The band received good feedback for their demo work and soon signed to the cult label Head Not Found Records, who released Ragnarok’s debut album Nattferd in 1995.

After a renewal of the lineup the only remaining old member, drummer Jontho, announced they will start touring with the new lineup and are planning for a new album through Regain Records early 2009.

Other Information

  • Origin: Sarpsborg, Norway
  • Genre: Black metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 1994–present
  • Label: Regain Records
  • Website: http://www.ragnarokhorde.com/
  • Members:
  1. HansFyrste – vocals
  2. Brigge – guitar
  3. Decepticon – bass and backing vocals
  4. Jontho – drums


  • Et Vinterland i Nord (1994) – Demo
  • Pagan Land (1995) – Demo
  • Nattferd (1995)
  • Arising Realm (1997)
  • Diabolical Age (2000)
  • In Nomine Satanas (2002)
  • Blackdoor Miracle (2004)
  • Collectors Of The King (2009)



~ by molco on June 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: