meshuggahMeshuggah is a Swedish five-piece experimental metal band formed in 1987. Meshuggah’s line-up has primarily consisted of founding members vocalist Jens Kidman and lead guitarist Fredrik Thordendal, drummer Tomas Haake, who joined in 1990, and rhythm guitarist Mårten Hagström, who joined in 1994. The band has gone through a number of bassists, but the position has been held by Dick Lövgren since 2004. Since its formation, they has released six studio albums, five EPs and eight music videos. The band has performed in various international festivals, including Ozzfest and Download, and embarked on the obZen world tour in 2008.

Meshuggah first attracted international attention with the 1995 release Destroy Erase Improve for its fusion of fast-tempo death metal, thrash metal and progressive metal. Since its 2002 album Nothing, they has used eight-string guitars and downtuned, groovy riffs. They has become known for complex, polyrhythmic song structures and precise musicianship. It was labeled as one of the ten most important hard and heavy bands by Rolling Stone and as the most important band in metal by Alternative Press. Meshuggah has found little mainstream success as of yet, but is a significant act in extreme underground music.

Other Information

  • Origin: Umeå, Sweden
  • Genres: Experimental metal, Technical death metal
  • Years active: 1987–present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast, Fractured Transmitter
  • Associated acts: Fredrik Thordendal’s Special Defects
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Jens Kidman – lead vocals
  2. Fredrik Thordendal – lead and rhythm guitar, studio bass guitar, backing vocals, “breath controller” device
  3. Tomas Haake – drums, spoken word
  4. Mårten Hagström – rhythm guitar, studio bass guitar, backing vocals
  5. Dick Lövgren – live bass guitar


  • 1989: Meshuggah (a.k.a. Psykisk Testbild) – EP
  • 1991: Contradictions Collapse
  • 1994: None – EP
  • 1995: Selfcaged – EP
  • 1995: Destroy Erase Improve
  • 1997: The True Human Design – EP
  • 1998: Chaosphere
  • 2001: Rare Trax – Compilations
  • 2002: Nothing
  • 2004: I – EP
  • 2005: Catch Thirtythree
  • 2008: obZen



~ by molco on June 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: