Job for a Cowboy

job_for_a_cowboyJob for a Cowboy is an American death metal band, formed in Glendale, Arizona in 2003. They released their first EP, Doom in 2005, and later that year signed with Metal Blade Records. Their official debut album, Genesis, was released in 2007, peaking at #54 on the Billboard 200 and selling 13,000 copies in its first week. They started as a deathcore group, and evolved into a predominantly death metal sound with their full-length debut Genesis. Their influences include bands such as Decapitated, Hate Eternal, Mastodon, Nile, The End. They have been defined by The New York Times as “an Arizona band with a guttural, brute-force sound descended (indirectly) from hard-core punk” and “straightforwardly brutal act” by Rolling Stone magazine.

The band has played in several festivals, including Download Festival, Sounds of the Underground and Wacken Open Air. The current band members are vocalist Jonny Davy, guitarists Al Glassman and Bobby Thompson, bassist Brent Riggs, and drummer Jon Rice.

Other Information

  • Origin: Glendale, Arizona, United States
  • Genres: Death metal, Deathcore (early), Progressive metal
  • Years active: 2003 – present
  • Labels: King of the Monsters, Metal Blade
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Jonny Davy – lead vocals
  2. Bobby Thompson – guitars
  3. Al Glassman – guitars
  4. Brent Riggs – bass, backing vocals
  5. Jon “The Charn” Rice – drums, percussion



  • Doom (2005) – EP
  • Genesis (2007)
  • Ruination (2009)



~ by molco on May 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: