obscuraObscura is a German technical death metal band. The band’s lineup currently consists of guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer, guitarist Christian Muenzner, bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling, and drummer Hannes Grossmann. The band has released two studio albums and one EP. Obscura was founded by Steffen Kummerer in 2002, with Jonas Baumgartl on drums. The band was named after the Gorguts album of the same name.

In 2006, having recruiting guitarist Markus Lempsch and bassist Jonas Fischer the previous year, the band self-released their debut album, Retribution. In 2007, Baumgartl and Fischer were replaced by ex-Necrophagist drummer Hannes Grossmann and ex-Pestilence bassist Jeroen Paul Thesseling. The following year, Lempsch was replaced by ex-Necrophagist guitarist Christian Muenzner, and on April 4, the band released a three-song promotional EP, containing songs from their upcoming album, Cosmogenesis. In September of 2008, after finishing the recording of Cosmogenesis, Obscura signed with Relapse Records.

Other Information

  • Origin: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Genre: Technical death metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 2002–present
  • Label: Relapse Records
  • Associated acts: Necrophagist, Pestilence
  • Members:
  1. Steffen Kummerer – guitars, vocals
  2. Christian Muenzner – guitars
  3. Jeroen Paul Thesseling – bass
  4. Hannes Grossmann – drums



  • Retribution (2006)
  • Promo CD (2008) – EP
  • Cosmogenesis (2009)



~ by molco on May 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: