Children of Bodom

children_of_bodomChildren of Bodom is a Finnish heavy metal band from Espoo, Finland, formed in 1993. As of 2009, the band consists of guitarist and vocalist Alexi Laiho, guitarist Roope Latvala, keyboardist Janne Wirman, bassist Henkka Seppälä, and drummer Jaska Raatikainen.

There is some contention regarding the band’s genre classification, however in general the band’s musical style has been described as melodic death metal. The band’s name is derived from the Lake Bodom murders. The lyrics of Children of Bodom’s songs are written in English and are most often concerned with the subjects of death, personal struggles, war and the Lake Bodom murders. Recent albums have seen a shift to more antagonistic lyrics (songs such as “You’re Better Off Dead” and “Hate Me”) and a more straight-forward heavy metal style.

Other Information

  • Also known as: IneartheD
  • Origin: Espoo, Finland
  • Genres: Melodic death metal, Power metal
  • Years active: 1993-present
  • Labels: Nuclear Blast, Spinefarm, Century Media
  • Associated acts: Sinergy, Kylähullut, Warmen, Gashouse Garden, Stone, Timo Rautiainen, Nightwish, Norther, Megadeth
  • Website:
  • Members:
  1. Alexi Laiho – lead guitar, lead vocals
  2. Roope Latvala – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  3. Henkka Seppälä – bass, backing vocals
  4. Janne Wirman – keyboards
  5. Jaska Raatikainen – drums, percussion



  • 1997: Something Wild
  • 1999: Hatebreeder
  • 2000: Follow the Reaper
  • 2003: Hate Crew Deathroll
  • 2005: Are You Dead Yet?
  • 2008: Blooddrunk


~ by molco on May 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: