Dark Funeral

Dark Funeral is a black metal band from Stockholm, Sweden. They are one of the bands to have emerged in Sweden during the Second wave of black metal. Their lyrical themes have traditionally pertained to Satanism and anti-Christianity – with Lord Ahriman and Emperor Magus Caligula being practitioners of LaVeyan Satanism.

In their earlier years their lyrical themes usually revolved specifically around depictions of Hell and Satan, but since Emperor Magus Caligula joined the band their lyrics have focused more on blasphemy and anti-Christian rhetoric although there have been several exceptions to this.In 1995, the band signed up to No Fashion Records and started preparing songs for a full-length album. After an attempt to record The Secrets of the Black Arts at Uni-Sound studios (again with Dan Swanö), the band decided to relocate to Abyss Studio and re-record the entire album. They released its 5th album entitled “Angelus Exuro pro Eternus”, which was officially released on November 18 2009 via Regain Records.

In early 2010, the band announced “A Declaration of Hate – European Tour 2010”.

Other Information

  • Origin: Stockholm, Sweden
  • Genre: Black metal, Death metal
  • Years active: 1993-present
  • Labels: Regain Records, Necropolis Records, Metal Blade Records, Candlelight Records
  • Website: http://www.darkfuneral.se
  • Members:
  1. Emperor Magus Caligula (Masse Broberg) – vocals
  2. Lord Ahriman (Micke Svanberg) – guitars
  3. Chaq Mol (Bo Karlsson) – guitars
  4. B-Force – bass
  5. Dominator (Nils Fjellström) – drums



  • The Secrets of the Black Arts (1996)
  • Vobiscum Satanas (1998)
  • Diabolis Interium (2001)
  • Attera Totus Sanctus (2005)
  • Angelus Exuro pro Eternus (2009)


  • Dark Funeral (1994)
  • Teach Children to Worship Satan (2000)
  • In the Sign… (2000)


  • Under Wings of Hell (2002)


  • De Profundis Clamavi Ad Te Domine (2004)


  • Attera Orbis Terrarum – Part I (2007)
  • Attera Orbis Terrarum – Part II (2008)



~ by molco on May 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: